Gourmet Pizza

So I know I’ve talked about my billions of recipes that I have on a “to try” list that I can never seem to put a dent in. In my effort to start making more of the real recipes (aka something other than a baked good or dessert recipe), I had Tall Guy pick out something he wanted to try for dinner and he picked this super delicious pizza recipe! I’ve never been a huge fan of pizza “recipes” before since I don’t really think  need a recipe to come up with topping combos for homemade pizza, but I do have a few on my list that look particularly interesting and are toppings that I wouldn’t normally use, so I figured why the hell not. I clearly need to start thinking more outside of the (pizza) box…

pizza

Portobello, Asparagus and Prosciutto Pizza with Balsamic Glaze (recipe originally by How Sweet It Is)

1 batch of your favorite pizza dough *I used plain dough from Trader Joe’s
Olive oil
1 – 2 tbsp minced garlic8 oz. grated fontina cheese
1 shallot, diced
Sliced baby bella mushrooms
Asparagus spears, chopped into thirds *I removed the ends as well
Prosciutto, torn
Mozzarella cheese (buffalo style), sliced
Romano cheese, finely grated
1/2 c balsamic vinegar

1. Preheat oven to 400°.
2. Form dough into shape desired and place onto baking sheet, pizza pan or pizza stone. I attempted an oval pizza since I cook it on a baking sheet, but I ended up with a more amoeba looking one.
3. Brush dough with olive oil, lightly coating entire surface.
4. Sprinkle minced garlic on the dough. I used about 1 tbsp.
5. Top with half of the grated fontina cheese.
6. Evenly place shallots, mushrooms, asparagus and prosciutto on the pizza. Use as much or as little of each ingredient as you want. I used about half of a diced shallot, a handful of mushrooms, 4 asparagus spears and 3 slices of prosciutto.
7. Top with remaining fontina cheese and slices of mozzarella. I used about 4 slices of buffalo mozzarella.
8. Bake for 25-30 minutes until cheese is golden and bubbly. Mine took about 20 minutes.
9. While pizza is cooking, make balsamic glaze. Bring balsamic vinegar to a boil in a small saucepan. Reduce to a very low simmer and cook until liquid reduces by about half and is slightly syrupy. Remove from heat and set aside to thicken.
10. When pizza is done, remove from oven and sprinkle romano cheese on top. 1/4 c of romano covered my pizza pretty well.
11. Use a spoon to drizzle balsamic glaze on top.

It just so happens that Tall Guy brought over balsamic vinegar for me a week or so ago because he thought I should have some on hand. Super weird coincidence, since I have never used balsamic vinegar before and really had no idea what to do with it. But I’m so happy he did because the glaze is my favorite part of the pizza!

I’d say my first foray into gourmet pizza was a success! Now if I could only get food photography down…

3 thoughts on “Gourmet Pizza

  1. Pingback: Game Day Eats | To The Window: Adventures of a Twenty Something

Leave a Reply

