Point and Counterpoint

In response to the NY Times article I talked about in yesterday’s post, Huff Post Women has an article up that points out some of the issues that the author has with the original article. If you liked the NY Times article, you should definitely give the HuffPo article a read. It’s always good to get some different perspectives on the issues!

The HuffPo author does make some good points. The knowledge that technology is changing the dating and relationship landscape is certainly nothing new, but I don’t think that was the main point of the original article (and I certainly don’t think the article implied that we women are “panicking” about this situation).

When I read the NY Times article, I found myself nodding my head in agreement with most of the points it made. To me, the most interesting thing was the confusion that surrounds how to break the “hanging out” cycle. Sure, keeping things casual with the men in my life is all fine and good for now, but what happens when I decide I do want to find someone to settle down with? The last “real date” I went on was kind of a hot mess… He asked me out for drinks, at 8 pm on a Tuesday, but apparently really meant drinks and dinner, and, not being a mind reader, I had already eaten. Not a huge deal, no, but watching someone shovel gnocchi into their mouth while sipping my Sam Adams was not quite what I was expecting.

I’m no stranger to awkward situations or unusual flings, but I’m basically a deer in the headlights when it comes to serious relationships. And since I’m pretty sure quitting casual relationships cold turkey is not the key to finding my soulmate, my suggestion box is wide open, friends. So help a girl out?

x

Leave a Reply

