Weekday Workouts: 7-Minute Edition

To make an impossibly long, boring story short- I’ve finally (!) started working out again after getting an ankle injury that just would NOT heal about 2 months ago. I got said injury 2 weeks into a really great exercise kick (isn’t that how it always happens?!), so I’m SUPER happy to finally feel injury free (although I admittedly do still wrap my ankle when I’m exercising and walking to/from work… just to be on the safe side)!

If you’re like me, working out is not something that comes naturally. Yes, I understand why it needs to be done and recognize how great I feel on days I get a good workout in, but it still usually takes me a few weeks with a solid exercise routine to really start to look forward to my workouts, let alone enjoy them. On top of that, I’m STILL trying to become a “morning workout” person… To say it’s not going well is an understatement.

I like to do an every-other day routine- pretty much weights one day, cardio the day after, and so on and so forth. But some days I just don’t have the time to get a full workout in. That’s where this 7-minute high intensity circuit training (HICT) workout comes in. This workout is supposed to be as effective as running and weight-training combined. You can read more about HICT here.

While I can’t attest to the effectiveness of the workout just yet, I can tell you that it definitely gets me sweating by the end of the first round, and that’s gotta be a better option than not working out at all, right? The best part is that this workout can be done almost anywhere, so the next time you’re tight on time and can’t get to the gym, don’t forget about this workout!

Do each of the following exercises for 30 seconds at the highest intensity you can. Rest for 10 seconds between each exercise. Repeat 2-3 times, as your schedule allows. (Need a timer? Download an app!)

1. Jumping jacks

2. Wall sit

3. Push-up

4. Abdominal crunch

5. Step-up (I use a small stool)

6. Squat

7. Tricep dips

8. Plank

9. High knees (running in place)

10. Lunge

11. Rotating push-ups

12. Side plank

Have a quick workout you love? Tell me about it in the comments!

Happy sweating! x

Leave a Reply

