What I’m Watching

I am a television addict. Seriously- I would watch it all if I could! I’ve never seen a 90s teen drama that I didn’t like and I watch “guilty pleasure” tv shows (looking at you, CW) like it’s my job. Now if they would only start paying me…

As you know, I look forward to the Fall for a lot of reasons, and new TV is one of them! But I do enjoy the TV break during the Summer because it gives me time to watch some of the (over 200) movies on my Netflix queue and re-watch my favorite TV series, or catch up on the series and shows I might have missed over the years.

Last night marked the very beginning of what I like to call “Fall TV Frenzy” (or “FTF,” for writing purposes), the month and a half long time period when series and shows have their Fall premieres. NERD ALERT! I start prepping for FTF as soon as the networks put out their premiere schedules. I’ll read up on the new shows to see which ones look like they’ll be worth watching and map out when my returning shows premiere. All of the premiere dates go on my calendar and, after each show airs, they get added to my TV show master schedule. Yes, I keep a schedule. For one reason or another, I usually can’t watch the shows when they air during the week, so I try to catch up on weekends and need to make sure I don’t miss anything!

Here’s what I’ve been watching this past month, pre-FTF…

Guilty Pleasure: One Tree Hill

one_tree_hill_pc

Image from thewb.com

What can I say? The 110-second ‘N Sync reunion really threw my nostalgia into overdrive. That, combined with one lazy Saturday spent watching Soapnet, and I just HAD to re-watch this series, which was, like, TOTALLY CRAZY DRAMA-FILLED AWESOME when I was in high school. Plus, most of these actors aren’t awful to look at…

Catch-Up: ALIAS

MICHAEL VARTAN, DAVID ANDERS, VICTOR GARBER, JENNIFER GARNER, GREG GRUNBERG, RON RIFKIN, MELISSA GEORGE, KEVIN WEISMAN, CARL LUMBLY

Image from seriable.com

I LOVE me some Michael Vartan! And I pretty much want to be Jennifer Garner, so this one was a no-brainer. I started watching this series with my mom when it first came out and was hooked, but then stopped watching a few seasons in after one of my favorite characters was killed off. I swore this Summer that I would finally watch the series in its entirety.

Cult Classic: The X-Files

x_files

Image from pastemagazine.com

This theme song used to FREAK. ME. OUT. My mom watched this series when I was little and I could hear it from my bedroom. I had to sing to myself to try to block it out! Confession: It still kind of freaks me out. I’ve only been watching a few episodes here and there, and there are a ton of seasons, so I likely won’t finish the series anytime soon, but I’m pretty ok with that.

What shows have you been watching lately?

P.S. Don’t expect TV show discussions to stay off the blog for long, what with the premieres right around the corner!

8 thoughts on “What I’m Watching

  1. I guess we really are related! I have the season premiere of Parenthood on my calendar and I’m not even a TV junkie! Of course, I’m also looking forward to the bachelor… but that’s not until January!

    • I plan on doing a big post about them… Basically all the returning faves (Grey’s, Scandal, Vampire Diaries, Nashville), plus I’m giving some newbies a try (Sleepy Hollow, The Originals, S.H.I.E.L.D.)!

    • Ha! I feel that way every Fall! But invariably some new ones get cut and any returners that I fail to catch up on for more than 3 weeks in a row get cut from my lineup… Can’t watch them all, right? (Although I do secretly wish that I could!)

Leave a Reply

