Quick, Easy and Cheap

No, I’m not talking about myself, thank you very much! Get your mind out of the gutter!

I’m talking, of course, about DINNER! Specifically, the joy that is a homemade casserole. As my mother likes to point out, it seems like casseroles get a bad rap, and, along with most other things, she’s right. Despite growing up with my mom’s delicious cooking (casseroles included), even I hear the word “casserole” and immediately imagine grey, soupy stuff with some darker bits floating around in it.. Like a chicken pot pie gone terribly, terribly wrong.

Luckily, I’m here to set the record straight: Casseroles are not only delicious, but quick, easy and cheap dinners that will leave you wanting more (don’t worry, there will be plenty of leftovers)!

Don’t believe me? See for yourself! I made this childhood classic (in my house, anyway) last night and my friends loved it! Really though, what’s not to love when chips, cheese and sour cream are involved?

Mary’s Mexican Chicken

2 cans Rotel tomatoes2 cans cream of chicken soup
5-6 chicken breasts (poached and cut into bite-sized pieces)
3 cups shredded cheddar cheese
1 bag tortilla chips

Pre-heat oven to 350°. Mix all ingredients except the chips and cheese. In a deep casserole dish, layer chips, chicken mixture and cheese; layer until dish is full. Top with crushed chips. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes or until bubbly.
Serving suggestion: Serve with sour cream and scallions.

So easy! And delicious! And depending on the amount of people you make this for, you could have leftovers for days (and there’s certainly nothing wrong with that!). So the next time you want to throw together an easy meal, don’t forget about casseroles, ok? Do you have any go-to dinner recipes? Tell me what they are in the comments!

GUESS WHAT?! – I love to cook (and bake), so starting with this very post, I’ll be featuring recipes on the blog (hopefully) pretty frequently. I hope you enjoy them! And just to keep everything organized, because you know how much I love being organized, I’ve created a new “Recipes” page so finding everything is as easy as knowing the alphabet. You do know the alphabet… right?

Leave a Reply

