Make It Yourself: Pumpkin Pie Spice

To me, Fall signals the start of baking season (aka weather that allows you to turn on an oven and not melt). There are few things that say “Fall” quite like pumpkin baked goods. I know I’ve said that before… Pumpkin pies, cheesecakes, cookies, brownie bites.. You name it, I’ve probably got it on my “recipes to make” list (under the “Fall” category, of course). Hello my name is Martine and I am a super organizer.

I like to bake SO many pumpkin things that I actually skip the small stuff and go right for the giant cans of Libby’s pumpkin. Seriously, I have a problem.

Well imagine my disappointment when I looked on my spice rack the other day and realized that I only have a tiny amount of pumpkin pie spice left. And then imagine my even greater disappointment when my roommate sent me this picture while she was at the grocery store:

IMG_1277

Aside from the fact that they were all out of PPS, the fact that they charge $7 for one teensy tiny container of it actually disgusts me.

Ever since the dawn of time (er, my obsession with food blogs), I’ve seen DIY PPS recipes. For one reason or another (read: laziness), I’ve never attempted to make PPS on my own. Until now, that is.

Thanks to foodgawker for helping me find this super simple PPS recipe.

Homemade Pumpkin Pie Spice

4 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp ground cloves   *you can substitute ground allspice for the ground cloves if you need to

Mix all ingredients. Store in an airtight container. Use in delicious fall recipes.

Soooo simple! (And much cheaper than buying it, too!)

What are your favorite Fall recipes?

2 thoughts on “Make It Yourself: Pumpkin Pie Spice

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Fudge | To The Window: Adventures of a Twenty Something

Leave a Reply

