Tonight’s Must-Watch TV

In an unbelievable slip, I forgot to include one of my absolute favorite shows in my original Fall TV post. The horror!

It’s a show I am eagerly anticipating watching on my TV again and its season premiere is TONIGHT!

You guessed it: The Walking Dead (AMC, Sundays at 9/8c; Season premiere 10/13)

The Walking Dead, saison 1

Image from geeksofdoom.com

There’s something you should know about me. I am the BIGGEST scaredy cat when it comes to scary movies and TV shows. Haunted houses? I’m the pillar of strength. The Ring? I couldn’t sleep for a week. I do believe I’ve touched on this before. Thanks for the sleepless nights, American Horror Story Season 1!

So when my best friend first told me I “HAD to watch” TWD, I wouldn’t even hear it. No WAY was I going to open up that can of worms again. But then she convinced me and we watched a couple episodes together and I was instantly hooked! The thing about TWD is that it’s more about the relationships between the characters and how they form this new life in the apocalyptic world than it is about being scared of the constant threat of zombies. Don’t get me wrong, there are a ton of awesome zombies on the show and yes, sometimes they sneak up on the characters and scare the shit out of me, but the plots and character interactions are what drive the show. If you haven’t seen it and are into zombies in any way, or even if you just think Andrew Lincoln looks hot in a dirty cop uniform, do yourself a favor and start watching this! It’s on Netflix and if you’re like me, you’ll catch up to the new season in about a week. You can thank me later.

FTF Update:

I love it!
Sleepy Hollow – This show is better than I expected, and already got a full season order from FOX!
Chicago Fire – Season 2 is a lot stronger than the first season.
The Vampire Diaries – I’ve cried watching both new episodes, so…
Grey’s Anatomy – How am I not bored of this show? Props to series creator Shonda Rhimes for keeping things interesting.
Scandal – This season is crazy good. Yes, I’m aware we’re only 2 episodes in.

Meh.
The Originals – It has major potential and I REALLY want to love it, but I just don’t. I’m definitely going to keep watching, but there’s just something about it that isn’t clicking for me. The lackluster writing leaves something to be desired, but the plot and most of the acting is solid.
Nashville – Still love this show, but it seems like this season is moving at hyperspeed. There’s a lot of stuff going on, but they’re not really delving into detail with anything, so it’s kind of just ending up as a jumbled mess. Hopefully it will get better soon.

Late Additions
The Crazy Ones – Based on the pilot episode alone, I will watch this series solely for the genius that is Robin Williams. He and James Polk are great together.

Axed
Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – The pilot was fine, but I just can’t seem to care about the characters, or really the show in general. I didn’t have time to watch it when it aired the second week and didn’t feel like dedicating time to catch up on demand.

I haven’t watched AHS: Coven yet, but I’m SO excited to see it because I heard it’s amazing and it does indeed look amazing. Dracula premieres on 10/25.

What shows are your favorites so far?

Leave a Reply

