Grim Grinning Ghosts of My Childhood

When I was little, my favorite video was Disney Sing Along Songs (yes, we’re talking old-school VHS tape, people). I loved it so much that I would cry when the final song, When You Wish Upon a Star, came on, and make my parents rewind it so I could immediately watch it over again.

Not too long ago, my roommate and I got to talking about that video and realized it was a staple in both of our childhoods. So, naturally, we had to see if we could find it on the internet. Low and behold, Youtube had the video in its entirety. (I could have SWORN it went on for hours when I was younger, but it’s actually only about half an hour.. Ah, childhood memories.)

There was one song in the collection that I didn’t love, however. And it wasn’t just that the song wasn’t exactly my cup of tea- It downright terrified me. In fact, I thought it was SO scary that I would make my parents fast forward through it because watching it gave me nightmares. Seriously, this song was legit.

If you don’t have any idea what I’m talking about, let me give you a little background. The tape is chock full of different (sing along) songs and you watch as an unbelievably lucky group of kids run around Disneyland singing said songs and getting into trouble with the Disney characters. I’m not still bitter that I wasn’t part of this group, I swear…

The song that gave me nightmares is called Grim Grinning Ghosts and features all of the Disney villains that we know and love in the CREEPIEST setting ever – at Disneyland’s Haunted Mansion.

Tell me that isn’t the creepiest video you’ve ever seen! Ok, at least admit that 4 year old you would have been a little freaked out by it…

HAPPY HALLOWEEN! x

Leave a Reply

