A Few of My Favorite Things: Part 2

I grew up surrounded by “artsy” people. My mom is one of the craftiest people I know (seriously- you name it, she’s probably made it), and she has a number of friends who are very skilled artists. So my next favorite thing will come as no surprise to those closest to me…

I have a pottery obsession. And a pretty good sized pottery collection. (Note: That’s not my collection below… Mine is much smaller, unfortunately.)

loc pottery

Local Pottery. Pembroke, MA.

I’ve never made my own in any real capacity (high school ceramics class doesn’t count!), but I’m quite happy owning pieces other people have made. It’s rare for me to be able to escape a craft fair without making a pottery purchase, or at least spending a little too much time pouring over the beautiful handmade bowls, plates and mugs.

My love for pottery started a while ago. One of my mom’s good friends actually owns a pottery shop and studio, so it’s all my mom’s fault, naturally. Her friend’s shop, Local Pottery, is the equivalent to pottery heaven. That is especially true during the month of December, when the studio closes and the retail shop takes over the entire space, filling it from floor to ceiling with shiny, smooth, beautiful pottery. And that’s pretty much how it all started… One fateful evening in December so many years ago during the open studio sale opening night party. That’s when I fell in love with my first mug. Later that month, I found that same mug wrapped up under my Christmas tree and a Christmas pottery tradition was born. The rest, as they say, is history.

My love has evolved over the years… I went from mugs to large bowls and platters, and now even have one or two favorite potters. I’ve been given sets of mugs and plates for such major occasions as my 18th birthday and graduation, and close friends and family know that pretty much any pottery gift will be very much appreciated, although my collection has gotten so large that I don’t even have room for it in my apartment! While my mom takes care of the majority of my collection, I’m lucky enough to have most of my pottery mugs sitting in my apartment at this very moment. There’s nothing better than spending a lazy weekend morning sipping coffee out of a beautifully crafted mug.

mug

Can’t get much better than MATCHING pottery. Homemade mini vanilla donuts, too.

If you happen to find yourself near Pembroke, MA, you MUST stop by Local Pottery. And if you live anywhere even remotely close to that area, make the trip out for the December open studio sale, I promise you won’t regret it! Bonus points if you make it to the opening night reception, which is on Friday, December 6th!

4 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things: Part 2

  1. Pingback: Broke Girls Want Gifts | Broke Girls Go Out

  2. Pingback: Broke Girls Want Gifts - Broke Girls Go Out

Leave a Reply

