A Few of My Favorite Things (Part 4)

I have a crystal clear memory of one Christmas morning when I was very young. I walked out of my bedroom and immediately spotted a present at the end of the hallway. When I turned the corner into the living room, I could see that we had so many presents under our Christmas tree that the present at the end of the hallway was not, in fact, forgotten by Santa, but placed there because he ran out of room everywhere else! We had an unbelievable amount of presents to open that year and it felt like it took us the entire day to get through everything!

Being older and wiser, I now know that there probably were not millions of presents for us to open and it most likely didn’t take all day, but I’ll never forget the way I felt when I walked out and saw all those presents that morning. It was, for lack of a better word, magical.

Christmas never feels as magical as it does when you’re a kid, but I still cannot wait to go home for the holidays every year. Christmas isn’t just about gifts, it’s about family and traditions and trees! And food. Lots of food.

I leave Philly for Boston this Friday night and I could not be more excited. I love everything about spending the holidays at home.

I love our Christmas decorations and the fact that we have a working fireplace that gets used fairly often.
I love my mom’s cooking and brunch on Christmas morning.
I love decorating the tree and re-discovering all of my favorite ornaments every year.

dad and tree

I wasn’t home for last year’s tree buying, so I had to give my text message approval.

I love that our tree topper is a starfish that my parents got when they lived in Aruba way back when.
I love the party we go to on Christmas Eve at my dad’s cousin’s house in Rhode Island.
I love that we always drive around to look at Christmas lights on our way home from that party.
I love the fact that I still wake up first on Christmas morning.
I love that we always open our stockings first and that my mom always puts an orange in the foot of them.
I love hosting a party at our house on Christmas night.
I love that my brother, sister and I take a picture together at our party every year.

Lastly, I love knowing that even though times may change, our Christmas plans are pretty much a constant. We do the same thing, more or less, every year, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Happy holidays! From my family, to yours. x

Leave a Reply

