A Perfect New Years Eve Dessert

I had a pretty low-key NYE and it was awesome. As you probably read, I’m not the biggest fan (understatement) of New Years, so when Tall Guy suggested we make a nice dinner and stay in, I was all for it. We ended up cooking dinner for my roommate and her boyfriend and then had a couple of friends over later in the night to watch the ball drop. Tall guy made lobster tails and filet mignon, I made the side salad and mashed potatoes. Dinner was absolutely delicious! And since New Years isn’t complete without champagne, I made champagne cupcakes for dessert! There’s champagne in both the cupcake and the frosting, but the flavor is subtle and they turned out awesome. I made mini cupcakes and they were all gone by the end of the night!

champagne cupcakes

Champagne Cupcakes (recipe originally from The Simple, Sweet Life)
makes about 24 mini cupcakes

1/2 stick butter, softened
1 c sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 c champagne
1 c flour

For the frosting:
1/2 c vegetable shortening *I used Crisco
2 sticks butter, softened
3 c powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 c champagne

1. Preheat oven to 350°. Line cupcake pans with liners. I sprayed my cupcake tin with PAM for baking. 
2. In a large bowl, cream the butter until smooth. Add granulated sugar and beat until mixture becomes slightly chunky.
3. Add eggs, vanilla, baking soda and champagne. Beat the mixture until all ingredients are combined. This takes slightly more time than a normal recipe since the champagne is bubbly and doesn’t mix well. You can use any kind of champagne you want, even pink champagne. I used Korbel Brut.
4. Add flour and beat until all ingredients are just combined.
5. Spoon the mixture into cupcake tin. Fill cups about 2/3, batter will rise when cooked.
6. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of cupcakes comes out clean, about 15 minutes for mini cupcakes, about 18-20 minutes for regular sized cupcakes (baking times may vary).

For the frosting:
1. In a large bowl, beat vegetable shortening and butter until smooth and creamy. Add the powdered sugar and beat until mixture is smooth and creamy.
2. Add vanilla extract and champagne and beat until the mixture is just combined.
3. Frost cupcakes and decorate as desired. Tall Guy got me piping bags (with all accessories) for Christmas, but I was in a time crunch and couldn’t quite figure out how to easily get the  frosting into bag liner (I blame the time crunch cause it really should have been a no brainer, right?), so I just piped my frosting on with a large ziploc bag. I’ll have to play with the new piping bags for my next cupcake recipe. I decorated the cupcakes with edible black and white glitter. 

I have a bunch of frosting left over and it’s so good that I haven’t been able to let myself throw it away. I’m trying to figure out something else to do with it, but in the meantime I’ve been “taste testing” it periodically… It’s that good.

2 thoughts on “A Perfect New Years Eve Dessert

  1. Pingback: Easy Valentine’s Day Desserts | Broke Girls Go Out

  2. Pingback: Easy Valentine's Day Desserts - Broke Girls Go Out

Leave a Reply

