Oh, the Places I Will Go… And the Things I Will Do

So I told you about my one and only New Years resolution for 2014 and I’m happy to say that it’s already going swimmingly!

While I’m convinced that the sentiment is resolution-worthy, there’s a teensy tiny part of me that feels like my resolution was a bit of a cop out. Yeah, I want to have more “me” time, but there’s a ton of other stuff that I want to accomplish this year that I didn’t want to put down as a resolution for fear it would go the way of most resolutions, as in, it would never happen.

And so I bring you my list of places I will definitely go and things I will definitely do in 2014. Note: THESE ARE NOT RESOLUTIONS, ok? Think of it as a “to do” list of sorts. I LOVE lists!

In 2014 I will…

… finally finally finally go to NYC.

… read at least 1 book every month. Hopefully more than that, though! (Thanks in advance to the Broke Girls Book Club for keeping me on track with this…)

… make at least 1 new recipe (from my list of 49+ pages of recipes to try) every month. I’m talking dinner/appetizer/soup/meal recipe. No baked goods or desserts included in this goal! 1 a month can’t be that hard, right?!

… go camping. Real camping. With tents and sleeping bags and a fire pit… And preferably very little cell reception. Tall Guy was a boy scout, so I’ll be fine you guys.

… learn how to play the guitar that’s been sitting in the corner of my living room since I moved into my apartment over a year ago…

… bake and make more desserts! My list of dessert recipes to try is at least 10 pages long, so I really need to get cracking!

… keep playing pool (in hopes that I’ll eventually become good at it). I actually won a couple of games against Tall Guy last weekend, so that’s a step in the right direction…

… do at least 1 creative thing a month. I’m thinking along the lines of a craft project, painting, collage or really just anything that gets my artsy fartsy juices flowing!

… go up to the observation deck in City Hall.

… use the pastry bags and tips that Tall Guy got me for Christmas to decorate cakes and cupcakes. I’ve graduated from the rigged gallon ziploc bag method, people. Get excited.

… figure out how to use the espresso machine my parents gave me last Summer. I’m sure it’s super easy (I’ve been a barista before, so if I can figure out an industrial espresso machine and milk steamer, I can figure out this machine, I’m sure), but I just haven’t ever taken the 5 minutes I’ll need to look at it. I know, I’m awful.

… go paddle boarding.

… go to the Art Museum! Because I’ve lived here for 5 years now and STILL haven’t been!… I should clarify that I’ve never been inside the museum… I’ve walked around the outside a bunch, though! *Hangs head in shame*

 

Lucky number 13 seems like a perfect place to stop…

What’s on your “to do” list this year?

2 thoughts on “Oh, the Places I Will Go… And the Things I Will Do

  1. …I can’t believe you’ve never been to NYC!
    …You should also add Aruba to your list!
    …I’ll take you paddle boarding this summer (& hopefully it won’t rain)!

  2. Pingback: A 2014 “To-Do” List | To The Window: Adventures of a Twenty Something

Leave a Reply

