Anywhere But Here

I’ve had a particularly less-than-lovely couple of days. The weather has been absolutely miserable and I think I’m in the middle of the worst Winter Blues I’ve ever had. I want out of this weather and this city ASAP.

If I could be anywhere…

It’s the Summer after my Freshman year of college. Early August, to be specific. I finished up working at the yacht club snack shack around 3:30 pm and it took me approximately half an hour to drive out to my favorite spot on Duxbury Beach. That’s where you’ll find me. Bayside, in a little-known spot that only has a few parking spaces, so I’m mostly alone, except for an elderly couple who has clearly been here for a while. I set up camp around the corner from the parking spaces, just out of view of the beach road. I’ve only got the bare essentials with me today. Chair and towel, both of which I keep in the trunk of my car 24/7, sunglasses, a bottle of water and a book. I’m not even wearing sunscreen since it’s so late in the day, and I’ve got a good tan going, so I’m not worried about getting burned (my high school self also, unfortunately, was not worried about getting skin cancer).

Yeah, that’s where I’d be if I could be anywhere right now. Lounging on that beach, my beach. Reading and taking in the view, without a care in the world or a cloud in the sky.

Leave a Reply

