Game Day Eats

I didn’t do anything overly exciting for the Super Bowl this year. My Patriots weren’t in it, so I really just watched for the commercials… And to see if Tall Guy’s beginning of the season prediction that the Seahawks were going to go all the way came true. Spoiler: It did. He is crazy good at sports predictions.

Since it was just my roommate, Tall Guy and I watching the game at my apartment, I narrowed down the food menu to just a few things. I made a delicious pizza earlier in the day, but saved the snacks for when the game actually started. My roommate made a yummy Mexican-ish dip (super easy! 3 ingredients, layered in a brownie pan – cream cheese on the bottom, salsa in the middle and shredded cheddar on top; bake until cheese on top is melted/bubbly) and I made my mom’s spinach dip (post on that later). I was kind of feeling like we needed something a little more substantial than just the two dips, so I made cheesesteak crostinis! It seems like something you’re only supposed to get at 1 am from Geno’s, but making your own cheesesteak is actually really easy! Meat and cheese on bread… What could go wrong?

crostinis

Cheesesteak Crostinis

1 loaf french bread, thinly sliced
2 green peppers, chopped1 sweet onion, chopped
Shaved steak *Shaved steak is key to making a good cheesesteak! I get mine from Trader Joe’s, since my supermarket doesn’t carry it!
3 – 4 slices of American cheese

1. Preheat oven to 325°.
2. Saute onions and peppers. Onions are done when they are see-through (leave them in until they brown if you want fried onions) and peppers should be tender.
3. Cook steak. I rip up the shaved pieces with my hands before putting them on the stove to cook, but you can also shred it with a metal spatula, if you have one and won’t ruin your pan!
4. Mix onions, peppers ans steak together in a pan.
5. Line a baking sheet with slices of bread. Spoon a little steak mixture onto each slice of bread. Top with a little bit of American cheese.
6. Bake until cheese is melty, about 5-10 minutes.

This was the first time I’ve done crostinis and I’m really happy with how they turned out! This is a perfect way to dress-up cheesesteaks, too! You can omit the peppers or onions and add in some of your go-to cheesesteak ingredients if you want (Tall Guy sprinkled his with tobasco and dipped them in ketchup.. Gross, but ok).

For more game day suggestions, check out my roommate’s post over on BGGO.

 

Leave a Reply

