Creamy Avocado Pasta

After spending most of Saturday on the couch nursing my margarita hangover with House of Cards season 2, I needed a quick and painless recipe to make for “Valentine’s Day” lunch with Tall Guy on Sunday.

I combed my “to try” list and settled on this creamy avocado pasta sauce recipe. It was super simple, and with a few additions and tweaks, it made for a great meal! Unfortunately, I don’t have picture evidence since I was too busy worrying about Tall Guy’s broken kneecap to remember to snap a photo, but I was pretty proud of my one-bowl presentation.

Creamy Avocado Pasta Sauce (recipe originally by two peas & their pod)

1 ripe avocado, pitted and removed from peel
1 tbsp fresh lime juice
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 c chopped fresh cilantro
salt and pepper

You can use whatever pasta you want for this recipe. I used penne.

1. Place avocado, lime juice, garlic and cilantro into a food processor.
2. Process until smooth and creamy, about 3 minutes.
3. Add salt and pepper to taste.
4. Put cooked, drained pasta in a bowl and toss with avocado sauce. Serve immediately.

To me, the sauce was a little heavy on the lime juice, so when I tossed it with the pasta I added a good amount of salt and pepper, but also threw in a tiny amount of olive oil (about 1 tbsp worth) and mixed in some pecorino romano (about 2 tbsp worth), as well.

Tall Guy is a big meat eater, and I wanted the meal to be filling without having a bunch of sides, so I added some crumbled bacon and grilled chicken tenders in as well.

The sauce whipped up in about 5 minutes total, so easy you could do it on a busy weeknight!

And to top it all off, Tall Guy said it was his favorite recipe I’ve made him yet!

One thought on “Creamy Avocado Pasta

  1. I am so making this tonight! Whenever I make healthy recipes for the boyfriend he eats them but usually isn’t too impressed. Maybe i can get him with this one!

Leave a Reply

