I Don’t Want To See You Breast Feeding Your Baby

Apparently Delta has gotten itself in a bit of trouble due to some recent tweets the @DeltaAssist account sent to a mother who asked about breast feeding her 10 week old on a 6 hour flight. Before I even dive into the breast feeding in public debate, I have a question for the mom…

Why are you taking a 10 week old baby, who apparently refuses to feed from a bottle or under a cover, on a SIX HOUR FLIGHT?!

Really though, does that sound like a recipe for disaster to anyone else?

I’m not afraid of boobs, obviously, since I have 2 of my very own. And no, I don’t have a problem with breast feeding- I know it’s what they’re there for in the first place. I just don’t really want to see you doing it. Is that so wrong?

I also don’t want to see a couple making out in public. Does that mean I hate all couples who make out? Obviously not. And I don’t have anything against moms or babies or the fact that babies need to eat and that means sucking on their mother’s breast. But do you have to do that in front of my face? Just like everything, there is a time and a place for breast feeding and it is not in the middle of the food court at the mall, or on a park bench in Rittenhouse Square.

I’m not saying that there aren’t times when you’ll have to do it, but that’s why covers were invented in the first place, isn’t it? I have NO problem with a woman breast feeding a baby in public as long as she’s covering up appropriately. It’s when she refuses to cover up and just expects other people to “deal with it” that I have an issue. I’m not saying that I’m not capable of looking away from her open shirt, because of course I am, but I think that if you insist on feeding your child without a cover, you should make arrangements to do that in a private place. And I don’t really see an issue with that. Yeah, I understand that your tiny human needs to eat every so often or all hell will break loose (literally), but you know that, too. And you knew that before you decided to go out for the day, so you, just like everyone else who is away from their home for an extended period of time, should have planned ahead.

I’m not trying to discriminate here. I don’t want to see ANY breasts in public, period. Really the only exception I have to that is topless or nude beaches. Not that I’ve ever been to one, but it would be pretty crazy to go to a nude beach and be angry at the sight of a naked person, right?

I don’t know, maybe I’m being naive about this situation. I can’t really understand the plight of the breast feeding mom since, you know, I’ve never been one (thank God for that), but I just don’t see why expecting a mom to cover up her boobs when she’s breast feeding is bad. Honestly, wouldn’t you want to cover up when you’re breast feeding? I know I would…

I promise I’m not trying to hate on this mom for having to be in a public place for 6 hours with a basically newborn baby. I know that there are some situations that require you to travel under any and all circumstances because you have to get where you’re going, but was that the case here? And if she knew the law was on her side (which she mentioned in her tweets) and that she wasn’t able to breast feed any other way besides uncovered, why would she even bother asking the airline about their policy in the first place?

Mothers, please, enlighten me if you can…

Leave a Reply

