Ch Ch Ch Changes

I’m a perfectionist. I can’t help holding myself to very high standards and am very hard on myself when I don’t meet those standards. So when it comes to making changes in my life, I try to go all in. I’ll start a week off eating super healthy and exercising every day, and if I haven’t kept up with those things by the time Wednesday rolls around, I’ll totally botch the whole idea and decide to start over again the following Monday, leaving myself a good few days to lay around and eat whatever I want. Not exactly a recipe for success…

I’m happy to say that I’ve finally begun evaluating my “all or nothing” approach. Clearly, when you set your sights high, it is near impossible to ever meet them or be satisfied with whatever good things you do end up accomplishing. For me, setting unrealistic goals that I couldn’t possibly meet all at once meant always stopping and starting and never really getting anywhere in my healthy living endeavors. And boy, was that frustrating.

Right now, I’m trying to focus on creating healthier habits so that they become second nature down the line and I can live an all around healthier life some day. I don’t have the worst eating or exercising habits (I love fruits and veggies and walk to work every day), but I do have a sweet tooth and cravings and a love of Netflix, which doesn’t exactly make for the healthiest lifestyle. I also apparently have a thing for run-on sentences today…

About a month or so ago, I decided that enough was enough. I was going to make some changes and they were going to stick, DAMNIT! So clearly what I was doing wasn’t working. Ok, fine. The first step is admitting you have a problem, right? In order to create habits, you have to change little things that you do on a daily basis. I decided that I would give myself “2 week challenges” and focus on one habit for two weeks straight before moving onto another habit I wanted to form.

I decided to start small, since I figured it was probably a good idea to start with something I was likely to accomplish, that way it would be a morale booster of sorts for my next challenge. So my first 2 week challenge was to make my lunch the night before work, instead of the morning of work. Now, if you’re a procrastinator like me, you know the drill. I always had the time to make my lunch the night before, but then why would I do that when I could just as easily make it the morning of? Well because it’s not that easy to get up and make a balanced lunch when you love to hit snooze and barely have time to comb the dry shampoo through your hair every morning… Hence why I REALLY needed to get my act together. I’m proud to report that at the end of the 2 weeks, making lunch became part of my nightly routine. And it didn’t kill me. Or really take away from anything else I did at night. On top of that, I was already eating healthier because prepping ahead of time meant bringing adequate (and healthy!) snacks and not running out to the corner store to get a bag of chips. So really, why didn’t I do this sooner?

I’m now in the middle of my second 2 week challenge! This week, I’m focusing on healthier eating. As I mentioned earlier, I have pretty good eating habits in general, but lately it feels like I’ve been letting loose and splurging a little too often… Not really ideal with bikini season being RIGHT around the corner…

First, I was all…

But now I’m all…

See the difference?

How do you make little improvements in your life? Let me know what works for you in the comments!

 

3 thoughts on “Ch Ch Ch Changes

  1. I have the same “all or nothing” mentality when it comes to things. I just started reading a book about mini-habits – something you do every day that is so small (like doing 1 pushup) that it’s impossible to fail. Kind of along the same lines as your 2 week challenge. I definitely need to find a way to stick with some healthier habits!

  2. Pingback: Breaking Up Is Hard To Do | To The Window: Adventures of a Twenty Something

Leave a Reply

