Review: Oro Restaurant

As I mentioned in my last post, Tall Guy and I took a trip to MA last weekend! It was planned kind of last minute, which threw off my super-planner instinct a little bit, but the weekend turned out great! We went into Boston on Saturday and hung out with my family on Sunday. Brunch was, of course, included in family time…

Going home is about visiting with family, going to the beach and FOOD! There are so many great spots near my hometown that it’s hard to pick where to go out, since I’m never there and want to make sure I get to my favorite places when I have the chance. But this time, my parents decided to make reservations at a restaurant none of us had ever tried before, based on a recommendation from one of my mom’s friends.

And that’s how we ended up at Oro in Scituate, MA. Now, if you’ve never been to Scituate before and you’re ever in the area, you have to check it out. The town is right on the water (and, duh, beautiful), and the main street has a bunch of cute shops and cool-looking restaurants. I went to a carnival there once when I was in high school, but I’m sad to say I haven’t been much other than that. Needless to say, I was looking forward to trying out this restaurant.

I immediately liked the place. The decor was modern and clean, but not boring. Tall Guy said he could easily see it being a restaurant in Philly or New York. They have a bar in the center right as you walk in and then seating all around the bar. It was very open and not crowded at all, which was especially nice since I’m used to cramped city restaurants. As an added bonus, they had live music! I love live music when I’m out at a restaurant, so that aspect definitely won them some points in my book!

The menu was a good size. Not too too many brunch options, but it was varied enough that there was something for everyone. We started with drinks and an order of their Hot Maple Doughnuts. Tall Guy and my dad both got Bloody Mary’s, which they said were delicious (I am NOT a Bloody Mary fan). I ordered a drink called the Strawberry Jive, which had gin, grapefruit juice, orange juice, muddled strawberries and fresh mint. I LOVED it! It was refreshing and so yummy, and they did not skimp on the alcohol, which is always a plus.

SJ

And how cool is that glass?!

The Hot Maple Doughnuts, however, left something to be desired. They looked great, with a thin, sticky glaze and powdered sugar dusting, and were hot, as promised, but weren’t very flavorful. They were cooked perfectly, but once you got through the outer fried shell, the dough tasted, well, like dough (there was no hole cutout in the middle, so they were like jelly doughnuts with no filling). Not exactly worth indulging in. Unfortunately, the doughnuts were just a foreshadow of things to come…

My mom, dad and I ordered the Eggs Benedict. Slightly different than a traditional Benny, their version has poached eggs over slices of avocado and tomato on an English muffin with lemon Hollandaise sauce, served with hashbrowns and a side salad. Eggs Benedict, as I’ve said before, is my favorite breakfast/brunch dish, but this one left me sorely disappointed. The Hollandaise sauce had no flavor, which, unfortunately, meant that the egg portion of the dish also had no flavor. Changing up a classic is all well and good, but if you’re going to take out the very-flavorful Canadian bacon, you have to make sure you compensate with flavor from other things. In this case, they missed the mark. On top of that, I didn’t love the hashbrowns. The potatoes were fried with Vidalia onions, which made them taste kind of sweet. They weren’t bad, but I just didn’t love the flavor that the onions gave them. Really the best part of my dish was the side salad, which had a very light, surprisingly flavorful dressing.

Doesn't that look delicious? Looks can be deceiving...

Tall Guy got a plate of oysters (raw) and had no complaints. (He also finished the half of my meal that I didn’t eat.) My brother got Nutella Stuffed French Toast, which was HUGE and looked delicious, but my mom said was not that great, either. Apparently the outside of the bread was well done, but the inside wasn’t quite done and there was a little too much Nutella.

While the atmosphere was awesome, the food at Oro was unimpressive. Their website says they are “now serving” brunch, which leads me to believe that this might be a new service for them (although there’s no telling when the website was last updated), so it might just be that they haven’t quite perfected brunch items yet. If I lived in the area, I would definitely go for cocktails on a regular basis… And I would be willing to give their dinner menu a try, too, since it seems like they might be a little better with that.

Oro, 162 Front Street, Scituate, MA 02066; open 5pm – 10:30 pm W-Sat, 5pm – 9pm Sun-M, brunch 11am – 3pm Sun.

Leave a Reply

