2 Week Challenge: Running, Part 2

I’m sad to say that my last 2 week challenge did not go super well.

I started it a little later than planned due to some minor issues, so I really didn’t get everything going until two weeks ago today (my “2 weeks” was technically up last Wednesday). Oh well, at least I started, right?

The first run was TOUGH. I was really out of shape. Like, my lungs felt like they were about to explode, out of shape. Not fun. But after I ran, I felt so good! Which totally made the run worth it and which is something I need to remember more often. Not only did I conquer my fear of getting back out there, but my whole body just felt… better. So I tried to carry that thought with me when I felt like I wanted to sit at home instead of go out for my next couple of runs. And while I still had to repeat “I AM going for a run” the whole way home from work on some nights to make sure that I did, in fact, go for a run, knowing how great I would feel after definitely helped keep me motivated.

The actual running went OK, but not great. I decided not to track my runs, or my time, or anything like that because I really want to do this based on feel to take a bit of the pressure off. I’m obviously still trying to push myself each time I go out, but I decided I didn’t need a timer or a GPS tracker to do that. I’ve been pretty happy with that decision, but it has made it kind of difficult to track my progress. I’m not even sure if I’m running a mile yet or not…. Given that, I get frustrated because I want to be going on these long, steady runs, but instead I end up out of breath and struggling after about 10 minutes. I’m trying not to get too upset about it since I’m just starting out… Rome wasn’t built in a day, after all.

Some things that are actually going well:

– It took me about 3 runs to find my pace again. I’m so happy to have finally found it because that means runs are slightly easier, if only for the first few minutes. (At this point, I’ll take whatever “easier” I can get!)

– I’m already starting to recover quicker after runs. After my first run, it took me about half an hour to finally get my heart rate back to normal and my breathing regular. Now it only takes me a few minutes. That’s a win in my book!

– Tall Guy says that he can already see a physical change happening. I, on the other hand, don’t really see anything different… Who knows whether he actually sees it or not (although he will read this and tell me, again, that he does), but it’s nice to think that changes can happen that quickly.

– I love feeling like I’m working toward something. I may not be the greatest runner right now, but I know that if I keep up with it for a few weeks, I’ll feel better both physically and mentally and each run will be easier than the last.

I did decide to change the plan from 4 days a week to 3 and knocked off Saturday runs. Aside from the fact that I’m not capable of a “long” run right now, trying to fit in a run on a busy weekend was a little too much for me, especially since I still have to force myself to run in the first place. I plan on bumping up to 4 days a week when I get a little more comfortable with it and it becomes less of a fight to go out.

Although I struggled a bit, the first week went fairly well. Unfortunately, the second did not. I didn’t run last Wednesday due to the monsoon-like weather we had here in Philly. As a matter of fact, my running spots were all submerged in water, anyway…

flooding

Then I ended up getting sick on Thursday night. I had the whole nine- fever, chills, aches and pains. Not quite a running ready body. I wasn’t anywhere near healthy on Friday, so I opted out on that night as well (also on most of the work day, but that’s another story).

So that brings us to today, and another 2 week challenge. Since I’m not entirely happy with how my first running challenge went, I’m going to extend the running challenge for another 2 weeks. There are a lot of goods things that came from my first challenge that I’m hoping to build on, so I’m feeling pretty positive about these upcoming runs. Running is really important to me, and I want to make sure I’ve established it as a routine before I move on to something else.

Today, I’m happy to feel healthy again, and I’m looking forward to a great run later!

Any running tips for me? Leave them in the comments!

One thought on “2 Week Challenge: Running, Part 2

  1. Pingback: Runnin’ Runnin’, and Runnin’ Runnin’, and… | To The Window: Adventures of a Twenty Something

Leave a Reply

