Memorial Day Weekend in Philly

Growing up, Memorial Day weekend never seemed like that big of a thing to me. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that I grew up in a place that was a vacation destination (why go on a long weekend beach vacation when you live 10 minutes from the beach already?), but whatever the reason, we never seemed to go anywhere and I can’t particularly remember my friends going anywhere either. So when I came to Philly and suddenly everyone took off over MDW, I was kind of surprised. I mean, I get it- it’s the kick off of the Summer and everyone wants to go to the beach, naturally. In college, a day off from classes meant another day to work at my part-time job and, unfortunately, even though I now work a 9 to 5, I still haven’t managed to go anywhere for MDW.

Don’t feel too bad for me, though! I had a great time this past MDW. I spent my days lounging in the sun in my backyard and nights barbecuing with Tall Guy. Not a bad way to spend the weekend, if you ask me.

I hope you all had a relaxing and BBQ-filled Memorial Day weekend. Let me know how you celebrated in the comments!

Leave a Reply

