Sparkling Grapefruit Sangria

I’ve been wanting to make sangria for a while now, but it always seemed like so much work. You have to buy all this fruit and booze and mix it together days ahead of time.. I just never quite got my act together enough to make it for any gatherings… Until last weekend!

My roommate and I were originally going to have a Memorial Day BBQ, but since all but two of our friends weren’t going to be around, we canceled it at the last minute. I already had 90% of the sangria ingredients, so I decided to just make it anyway. It turned out awesome and totally changed my mind about the whole sangria making process.

Sparkling Grapefruit Sangria (recipe adapted from How Sweet It Is)

1 bottle (750 mL) Riesling
1 bottle Prosecco
1 grapefruit, sliced or cut into chunks
Juice of 2 grapefruits (or 1 c store-bought grapefruit juice) *fresh-squeezed is worth it though!!
1/2 c simple syrup
1/2 c club soda
2 c strawberries, sliced

For the simple syrup: Combine equal parts water and sugar in a small saucepan. Bring water to a boil and stir until sugar is dissolved. Let cool completely.

1. Put the sliced fruit in a large pitcher.
2. Combine Riesling, grapefruit juice, simple syrup and club soda.
3. Pour over fruit in pitcher. Refrigerate at least an hour before serving.
4. Just before serving, pour in Prosecco and stir to combine. Serve over ice. Garnish with strawberries or grapefruit slices, if desired.

sangria

This sangria was so easy to make! I chose it partially because it didn’t require sitting for an exorbitant amount of time, but also because it only had a couple different kinds of fruit. I feel like a lot of sangria recipes I see have four or five different kinds of fruit in them and I just don’t want to spend that much money on fruit that’s going into an alcoholic drink, you know? This recipe was simple, cheap and so delicious. Definitely great for your next Summer gathering!

Leave a Reply

