Restaurant Review: Honey’s Sit ‘N Eat

Tall Guy and I walked past Honey’s Sit ‘N Eat on South a few weeks ago when we were seeing apartments in the Graduate Hospital area of the city. So a week later, when I begrudgingly scheduled an apartment showing in that area for 9 am on a Saturday, I decided brunch would be a good consolation prize if the apartment wasn’t what we were looking for (and of course, it wasn’t).

I’ve never been to either Honey’s location, and I’m not sure what the other one is like, but Honey’s on South was so cute! The decor was fun (think old southern charm with a splash of hipster), and there was a lot of seating packed into a small area, but it was somehow still very open and spacious.

We got there on the early end of brunch, aka before 10 am, so we were seated right away, but it filled up quickly and I know I’ve walked by when there’s been a line out the door before, so you’ve been warned if you go at “normal” brunch times (11 am – 2 pm).

Tall Guy started with a grapefruit juice, which was fresh-squeezed and really yummy. We both got coffee, which is La Colombe perfection and bottomless- can’t go wrong there.

The menu options are along the lines of an old-fashioned Southern diner. The food is all of your typical breakfast diner fare, but with the freshest ingredients you can find, meaning it’s not “diner-greasy” like you might get at other places.

Tall Guy ordered Biscuits and Sausage and Gravy. It was a pretty big portion. He liked it, but said it could have used a little bit more sausage. At only $9, the amount seemed pretty reasonable to me. The biscuits, which I sampled, were as flaky, buttery and delicious as you can imagine. I would have taken home a whole basket of biscuits if I could have… And hell, you might be able to if you ask nicely. (I refrained, what with it being bikini season and all…)

biscuits and gravy

I ordered a Toad in the Hole, which is a piece of hollandaise soaked challah bread with a poached egg in the middle of it, covered in cheddar jack cheese and truffle oil with a few sprouts on the side for good measure. I wasn’t all that hungry, which is partly why I chose this dish, and was happy to see that the portion size was exactly what I was looking for. The egg was poached perfectly and the jack cheese gave the dish a nice little kick. You can definitely tell they use high quality ingredients in their dishes. So good!

toad in the hole

We had a great time at Honey’s. Our waiter was fairly attentive and on point with my bottomless coffee. He also emphasized that we didn’t have to rush and could take our time finishing our drinks after we paid the bill, which is always appreciated. I will definitely go back there if I have the chance, and I’d love to check out their other location.

Honey’s Sit ‘N Eat, 2101 South St, Phila., PA; open M-Sat 7 am – 10 pm, Sun 7 am – 7 pm; BYOB; CASH ONLY; Reservations not accepted.

Leave a Reply

