Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Well, I finally did some baking in the smallest oven ever oven in my new apartment. Thankfully, it wasn’t as much of a hassle as I thought it would be! But I still need to get used to cooking with an electric oven (why 400º in an electric seem like 600º in a gas oven?)… And to how much less oven real estate I have. All in good time, I’m sure.

I was tossing and turning all of last night, so finally at 6:18 am I decided to just get up and start my day… It was about an hour earlier than I normally get up for work, and I figured there was no better way to spend my time than by baking some muffins.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins (recipe originally by Two Peas and Their Pod)

2/3 c sugar
Zest and juice of 1 lemon
2 c flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 c sour cream or plain greek yogurt *I used greek yogurt
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 stick butter, melted and cooled
2 tbsp poppy seeds

optional icing:
1 c confectioner’s sugar, sifted
2-3 tbsp lemon juice, preferably fresh

1. Preheat oven to 400º. Line a muffin tin with muffin cups or use a nonstick baking spray.
2. In a large bowl, rub the sugar and lemon zest together with your fingertips until the sugar is moist and the fragrance of lemon is strong.
3. Whisk in the flour, baking powder and baking soda.
4. In a small bowl, whisk together greek yogurt, eggs, vanilla, lemon juice and melted butter until well blended.
5. Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and gently stir to blend.
6. Stir in the poppy seeds.
7. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups.
8. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes. Cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes before taking the muffins out of the tins.
9. If desired, let the muffins cool completely before icing them.

For the icing:
1. Put the confectioner’s sugar in a small bowl and add 1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice. Stir to moisten the sugar, then add enough additional lemon juice, a little at a time, to get an icing that is thin enough to drizzle from the tip of a spoon. Drizzle glaze over muffins and serve.

I didn’t make the icing because I ran out of lemons and time (it was 6 in the morning before work when I started this, after all), but would definitely opt to make it under different circumstances. These muffins had a good flavor and were very moist, thanks to the greek yogurt, but weren’t that sweet, which probably means they’re perfect with the icing.

Tall Guy had one and liked it, but the one I had was burnt on the bottom. It was either from my second batch when the pan only had 3 cups with batter and the rest of the cups filled with water, or it was from the first batch and I need to adjust my oven temp a bit. I’ll have to play around with it a little bit.. The joys of moving!

lemon poppy seed muffin

Darker-than-I’d-like bottom, but pretty good nonetheless!

Lemon poppy seed anything is always a winner in my book, and this recipe wasn’t overly complicated, which was helpful for my half-asleep self. But it didn’t blow me out of the water (like the orange poppy seed muffins I made a while back), so I likely won’t make these again. Don’t let that stop you from giving them a try, though!.. Or from letting me know what you think about them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

