Banana Oatmeal Butterscotch Chip Cookies

I feel like it’s been forever since I made anything, but I’m making a big push to get back into the swing of things sooner rather than later so I don’t miss out on pumpkin baking season! Even though I have pumpkin puree in my cabinet, I made a banana-centric recipe because I had a few over-ripe bananas that I didn’t want to go to waste.

My first baking experience in my new oven was a great one! The range and oven are new, so cooking on them, even though they’re electric, has been relatively painless, and baking was no different. I made sure to check the cookies periodically since I don’t quite know the strength of my oven yet, and I’m happy to say that the cookies came out perfect! (I forgot, however, that I don’t have any more large cookie sheet, so I was stuck using one super small sheet for the entire batch… Add those to my Target list!)

cookie1

Banana Oatmeal Butterscotch Chip Cookies (recipe originally from The Taylor House)

2 c flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 c butter, room temperature
1/2 c sugar
1/2 c brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
2 over-ripe bananas
1 c oats *I used Quaker Instant Oats
2 c butterscotch chips *original recipe calls for chocolate chips, I substituted based on what I had on hand

1. Preheat oven to 375º and grease (or spray) the bottom of your cookie sheet(s).
2. Mix the flour and baking soda in a medium bowl. Set aside.
3. Mix the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy.
4. Add the egg and vanilla to the butter mixture and mix well.
5. Add the banana to the sugar and egg mixture. Beat until smooth.
6. Mix in the flour mixture until just combined.
7. Stir in the oats and chips until well mixed.
8. Using a small cookie scoop or spoon, drop the dough onto your baking sheet. Leave about 1-2 inches in between cookies.
9. Bake for 10 minutes, or until they are golden brown around the edges and “set.”
10. Let stand 1 minute on the cookie sheet before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. (Or eat them warm when the chips will be all melty and delicious!)

cookie2

I’m not a huge banana baked good person, but I’m really glad I had those over-ripe bananas that needed to be used! I was a little nervous the butterscotch chips would make them too sweet, but they didn’t at all, and instead gave them a really nice, full flavor. Everyone at my office loved them, and I would definitely make these again!

2 thoughts on “Banana Oatmeal Butterscotch Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

