Cinnamon Sugar Pumpkin Soft Pretzels with Cream Cheese Icing

It took me a little longer than I would have liked to get started with the pumpkin baking, but it has finally arrived in full force. I’ve seen a ton of soft pretzel recipes on food blogs over the years, but I’ve never attempted to make any. Until I saw this recipe for pumpkin soft pretzels, that is. It might have been my pumpkin addiction, but I could not resist making this recipe!

Cinnamon Sugar Pumpkin Soft Pretzels with Cream Cheese Icing (recipe originally from creme de la crumb)

pretzels

the pretzels
1 1/3 c warm water
1 tbsp active dry yeast
2 tbsp honey
4 c flour
1/2 c pumpkin puree
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

the boil
water
1/3 c baking soda

the coating
1/4 c butter, melted
1/4 c sugar + 1 tbsp cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 400º. Grease baking sheet with cooking spray.
2. Whisk together warm water, honey and yeast in a large bowl. Allow to rest for 5 minutes.
3. Add flour, pumpkin pie spice and pumpkin puree to yeast mixture and mix until dough comes together.
4. Transfer dough to well-floured surface and knead a few times. Let dough rest for 10 minutes.
5. Roll dough into long log and divide into 12 equal pieces.
6. Roll each piece into a long log (about 16-18 inches).
7. Twist each log into a pretzel shape. (See an example here.)
8. Fill the pot with about 2-3 inches of water. Once it comes to a boil, slowly sprinkle baking soda into water. (Careful- it will bubble and foam!)
9. Drop a pretzel in the water and boil for 30 seconds. Remove from the water (with a large slotted spoon or spatula) and transfer to a paper towel. Repeat with remaining pretzels. I started out using a small slotted spoon, but found that a slotted spatula worked better.
10. Place pretzels on a greased baking sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes or until pretzels are lightly browned.

to coat
1. Whisk cinnamon and sugar together and spread it in an even layer on plate.
2. Melt butter.
3. Brush baked pretzel with melted butter and then dip in the cinnamon sugar mixture. Repeat with remaining pretzels.

the icing (optional)
3 c powdered sugar
1/4 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp cream cheese, softened
2-3 tbsp milk

1. Mix powdered sugar, vanilla and cream cheese until smooth.
2. Add milk 1 tablespoon at a time. 2 tbsp for thicker icing (best for dipping), 3 tbsp for thinner icing (best for drizzling).
3. Serve icing on the side, or drizzle on the top of the pretzels.

The recipe was pretty involved, but the steps were easy enough, even for a pretzel novice like me. The dough was a little sticky and hard to work with (especially for the second log-rolling step), but I was able to make it work. I ended up with only 10 pretzels because I didn’t roll my initial log long enough. I also somehow ended up with one very tiny pretzel, and I wish I had made them all that size, because smaller was definitely easier to work with.

The pumpkin flavor was very subtle, but it worked well with the cinnamon sugar coating. And the icing, although sweeter than it was tangy (due to the small amount of cream cheese), complimented the flavor nicely.

I have to admit, I wasn’t super in love with these. I’m not a huge soft pretzel fan as it is (don’t tell anyone, my fellow Philadelphians might disown me!), and the pumpkin aspect wasn’t enough to change my mind. They did look pretty impressive, however, and everyone at my office said they were very tasty. A very timely recipe, what with it being national pretzel month and all, but not one I would make again.

If you love soft pretzels, though, these ones will not disappoint!

pretzel2

Leave a Reply

