State of the Union

So I turned the big 2-5 on Sunday. And when I wrote this post, I was sitting in bed at 10:30 pm on a Tuesday night after having just read an excerpt about being 25 from a book my mom sent me and I couldn’t help but dissect my own life up until this point…

Not to toot my own horn or anything, but things are pretty freaking awesome right now.

I always told myself that if I didn’t “have it all figured out” by the time I turned 25, I would head West and drive cross country to LA. What I didn’t know at the time was that you never really have it all figured out… But I think what I meant by that was if I didn’t have a good job that I enjoyed, or a boyfriend, or really anything tying me to Philly, what was the reason for staying? I’m not sure why age 25 was my cutoff, either. At the time I promised this to myself, when I was just finishing college, I’m sure 25 seemed “so old,” but now that it’s actually here, I feel like I was expecting a lot out of a measly 3 years time!

High expectations or not, I’m happy to say I did not feel the need to drop everything and drive cross country this Summer.  I, by no means, have it all figured out, or anything figured out for that matter, but for once in my life I feel like everything is on the exact right track.

Work is still work. I would still choose sleeping over getting up and going to work in the mornings if I had a choice, but I appreciate it for what it is. A paycheck, for one, but also a great way for me to learn more about my craft (currently: marketing) and hone my skills in an environment full of good people who I enjoy working with and seeing on a daily basis. Yes, I have my good days and bad days, and some days my office is like a really chaotic episode of The Office, but overall I like where I’m at work-wise. Which seems like a miracle considering a little over a year ago, before I landed my current gig, I was stuck in a dead-end job (that was really a glorified internship) that I hated. Go me!

My love life is… Present and accounted for. Again, not without its issues, and maybe it has a few more issues than most, but I can wholeheartedly say I have someone who loves me even when I’m being a brat, supports me, encourages me, makes me laugh, holds my hand every chance he gets, spoils me, buys me flowers just because and loves my cat (very important). He tells me how he can see the hard work I’ve been putting in at the gym has been paying off, but always reminds me that he thought I was beautiful even before I started going to the gym 5 days a week. And most of all, he inspires me each and every day, just by staying positive and living his life in the best way possible.

I’m also lucky enough to have a family who supports me no matter what. They may not like some of the decisions that I make, but they do their best to help me in every way possible. At the end of the day, they have my best interests at heart and aren’t afraid to let their feelings and thoughts be known if they think it will serve me in the end.

Every now and then, I have to pinch myself to make sure this is all real. I live in a 1 bedroom apartment in the heart of Philadelphia. I’ve raised a cat since she was a kitten. I buy my own groceries and manage not to stock up on junk food every week. I walk to work every morning and it only takes me 10 minutes. I go to the gym 5 days a week and can run 30 minutes straight. I’m making travel a priority and will have gone on 5 trips to new places by the time the year is over. All these things make adulthood truly great.

But for me, being in my mid 20s is a little like dipping my toe in the water. I’m getting my feet wet with what I consider “adult” experiences (dealing with ER visits, insurance companies, medical issues, comcast bill negotiations, apartment problems, etc.), but haven’t quite had to jump head first into the adult pool yet. My parents still do my taxes. I’m still on their insurance (1 more year, baby!), I still call my mom when I have a cooking question or need help getting a stain out of my clothes. I still send out a Christmas list to my family and want to blow out candles on my birthday…

But who’s rushing to be a full-blown adult, anyway? I have at least 5 more years for that… right?

xo

Leave a Reply

