Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up

Alright friends, the countdown is on- A mere 1 1/2 days until Thanksgiving!

Despite the fact that it’ll just be Tall Guy and I celebrating in my teeeeensy tiny apartment, I am, of course, making a full feast.

 

As is tradition, Thanksgiving day pre-meal is all about trying to eat as little as possible, aka snacking on cranberry bread & cream cheese. In keeping with that, I’ll be making my mom’s cranberry bread.

IMG_1344.JPG

Tall Guy was in charge of the turkey this year, which we both decided had to be cooked somewhere other than my tiny oven. So he’s getting turkey from the restaurant where he works, Paris Bistro, and I’m in charge of pretty much everything else!

I’m all about the traditional Thanksgiving dishes. You know the ones- sweet potato casserole (I’m team-mini marshmallows!), green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, stuffing, cranberry sauce (from a can!)… And Tall Guy loves corn. Like, LOVES corn. I never remember corn being a huge part of my Thanksgiving meal, but I make exceptions for Tall Guy just because he’s so darn cute.

But what specific recipes am I making? I thought you’d never ask!

Believe it or not I don’t think I’ve ever had a sweet potato casserole with pecans, so I’m making this recipe, which has pecans AND marshmallows.

I’m going out on a limb and making green bean casserole from SCRATCH this year! And it’s all Sally’s fault!

My mom taught me how to make mashed potatoes. You can find her recipe over on a recipe round-up I did for Broke Girls Go Out a couple years ago.

I bought the Pepperidge Farm cubed stuffing bag mix. It calls for onion and celery (which a lot of the bag mixes do), but I’m leaving out the celery because we’re not huge fans of it. Instead, I’m going to add in cranberries, pecans and apples.

And now everyone’s favorite part- dessert! Is it any surprise I couldn’t resist making more than 1 dish?

For my token pumpkin dish, I’ll be making a version of these pumpkin cream cheese trifles.

In addition to that, and because Thanksgiving is nothing without pie, I’m making this sour cream apple pie. What? Yes, SOUR CREAM in a pie. Since we all know I’ll use anything as an excuse to eat sour cream, this pie has my name written all over it.

If you’re looking for other dessert recipes, check out some I’ve made in the past:
Bourbon Apple Oatmeal Pie – This pie turned me on to apple pies with crumble topping instead of crust on top- a lot easier and so delicious!
Pumpkin Cream Cheese Truffles – These are a great addition to any dessert spread, and oh so addictive!
Pumpkin Cream Pie – This is my go-to Thanksgiving pie recipe. It’s so simple, doesn’t require any oven space and can be done the night before.

And I HIGHLY recommend checking out Sally’s Baking Addiction Thanksgiving recipe roundup. All of her recipes are amazing and as a bonus she has make-ahead tips for them! If I could make them all, I totally would!

What are your favorite Thanksgiving dishes? What are you making this year? Let me know in the comments!

Have a great holiday and HAPPY THANKSGIVING! x

Leave a Reply

