And the 2016 Oscar Goes to…

Oscar night is like the Super Bowl in my house. Well, ok, the Super Bowl is like the Super Bowl, but the Oscars are a big deal for us, too. And just like a couple years ago, Tall Guy and I were able to watch every Best Picture nominee in preparation for the Oscars this year! For once, I was actually interested in seeing every movie on the list, which made the experience a little more fun than some other years, when it felt more like a chore.

If you haven’t been able to watch them all, hopefully my recaps will help get you through tonight!

In order of appearance…

Mad Max: Fury Road

madmax-furyroad-gifs-5-26573

We actually saw this in theaters, much to my dismay. This was one I didn’t really have any desire to see, but Tall Guy was REALLY looking forward to it. So there we were, in the theater, me with zero idea what was going on and Tall Guy totally loving it. I have, of course, never seen any of the Mad Max movies, so Tall Guy actually leaned over and apologized a few minutes in because there was very little backstory given and I was, clearly, completely lost. In the end, I enjoyed the movie a bit, and definitely think it was beautifully shot. It also wins for best action sequences, in my opinion.

My rating: ***
Tall Guy’s rating:****

The Revenant

giphy

Tall Guy was pretty excited about this movie. I didn’t quite share the same feelings, but was interested in seeing it nonetheless. It was pretty good, one of the stronger ones out of the Best Picture nominee lineup, but something missing that I just can’t quite put my finger on. Leo was seriously great (fingers crossed for that Best Actor win!), as were the supporting actors. The cinematography was probably the best in the group, as well. But it was long… Or I should say, it felt long. Not quite what you want out of your Best Picture winner. The director, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, directed last year’s Best Picture winner, Birdman, so it’ll be interesting to see if he gets the win again this year.

My rating:****
Tall Guy’s rating:*****

The Martian

giphy1

I was a little leery about Matt Damon as an astronaut again (after his role in Interstellar a few years ago), but he killed it. The film managed to stay entertaining despite the fact that it’s basically 1 guy by himself for the majority of it. The plot was interesting, the action was exciting and it was also really funny. Definitely one of the stronger films on the list.

My rating:****
Tall Guy’s rating:***1/2

Spotlight

mjizotdhnwfinimvc2pvwvjiyk13yxhxwmz2tgfzahnsry1hbuvfps9maxqtaw4votawedkwmc9mawx0zxjzom5vx3vwc2nhbguoktpxdwfsaxr5kdgwks9odhrwoi8vaw1hz2vzlm1pyy5jb20vahhzym1my3owz2zsm29sbgrqngqwbwr0d3vsamkybtjimti0adfr

I was pretty disappointed in this film. The trailer made it look really good, but the movie fell flat. It seemed like it was trying a little too hard. The story was interesting on its own, but the film just didn’t grab me at all. There was very little character development, so any drama surrounding how the story affected their lives got lost. Instead the story just kind of plodded along, with a lackluster payoff.

My rating:**
Tall Guy’s rating:**

Room

giphy2

The strongest film all around. It was hard to watch in the sense that the story is so depressing. Even though it has a “happy” ending, I was left feeling very down. But that’s not to say the movie itself wasn’t great- the plot drew me in and kept my attention throughout, something other films in this category weren’t able to do as well, if at all. The story moved at a good pace, and was exciting even though the summary gave away a major plot point. This might not win, but it definitely deserves to.

My rating:*****
Tall Guy’s rating:***1/2

The Big Short

1961634-dans-the-big-short-950x0-1

I fell asleep watching this movie. Twice. I liked it, though, I swear! It was actually pretty interesting, and gave a good look into the 2007 stock market crash. I loved how it was told in a unique way, with the characters occasionally breaking the fourth wall and little breaks with real pop culture footage from the time. And apparently Christian Bale, whose character in the film had a glass eye, didn’t use a prosthetic, but can actually move (or in this case, not move) one eye independently of the other. If that doesn’t win you an Oscar, I don’t know what does.

My rating:***
Tall Guy’s rating:****

Brooklyn

tumblr_o2tv7c9uyn1v8vz3do1_400

I was surprised to see what I thought was a romantic comedy in the Best Picture nominee lineup. Telling the story of an Eilis (pronounced Ay – lish), an Irish immigrant in Brooklyn, NY, it’s more than just a romantic comedy. The story held my interest throughout, and the acting was great. It moved a little quickly in the beginning, so I had very little vested interest in the family Eilis left back in Ireland, which came back to haunt things towards the end of the film. While it was a good date movie, I don’t see it as the winner this year, but I did enjoy it nonetheless.

My rating:***
Tall Guy’s rating:***

Bridge of Spies

a19147a0-07bc-0133-4590-0a2ca390b447

Tall Guy couldn’t sit through it, which made it hard for me to get through it as well. The ending was good, but it took way too long to get there and was very predictable. I can see why the majority of Oscar voters (cough cough white men over 60) would like it, though.

My rating:**
Tall Guy’s rating: “Pointless talking for 2 1/2 hours for an obvious ending. Would have been better on the History Channel as a documentary.”

My Picks
Dark horse: Room
Runner up: The Martian
If it was up to me: Room

Tall Guy’s Picks
Dark horse: Room
Runner up: The Big Short
If it was up to me: The Revenant

And our Oscar goes to… The Revenant

1401x788-the-revenant-df-02339r_rgb-1200x675

Leave a Reply

