Most Delicious Muffins

I haven’t made a muffin recipe in a while, but I thought they would be the perfect thing to bring to Tall Guy’s mom when I saw her last weekend. I was planning on making lemon poppy seed muffins, but I completely forgot to get lemons when I went grocery shopping. And good thing I did, because orange poppy seed muffin recipes exist and oh my God are they amazing! (Luckily I did have some oranges lying around!)

Orange Poppy Seed Muffins (recipe originally from Back to the Cutting Board)

3 c flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3 tbsp poppy seeds
10 tbsp butter, room temp
1 3/4 c, plus 3 tbsp sugar
zest and juice of 1 medium orange
2 eggs
1 1/2 c plain low fat yogurt *I used low fat vanilla because it’s what I had on hand

Optional: Orange Syrup
1/4 c fresh squeezed orange juice
1/4 c sugar

1. Adjust oven rack to lower middle position and preheat oven to 350°. Put liners in muffin tin (or spray with nonstick spray).
2. In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and poppy seeds. Set aside.
3. Cream butter, sugar and orange zest until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each. Add orange juice and mix well. I used a hand mixer for this and the next step.
4. Mix in 1/2 c yogurt. Then mix in half of the flour mixture. Repeat until all ingredients are added. Batter will be thick.
5. Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Mine took about 25-30, times will vary depending on your oven. 6. Muffins are done when they are golden brown on top and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Immediately remove muffins from tin and let them cool slightly. Invert them onto a wire rack and then turn then right side up to avoid burning your fingers!

Optional: While muffins are baking, make orange syrup. Add orange juice and sugar to a small saucepan and cook over medium heat until sugar is dissolved and the mixture thickens slightly, about 5 minutes. Use a pastry brush to coat the tops of warm muffins with syrup. I skipped the syrup because I ran out of sugar!

This makes a lot of batter. I put one batch of muffins in the oven and realized I had too much batter left over and too little time, so instead of making a couple more batches of muffins, I threw all of the remaining batter into a bread pan (pre-sprayed with PAM for baking) and made a loaf of orange poppy seed muffin bread, which was also delicious! The bread took about 40 minutes. Be careful not to under cook- a toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean and the top of the break will be very golden brown. Test a few places in the center to make double sure, since the middle cooks last.

bread

Don’t miss out on lemon poppy seed’s younger, hipper, more delicious cousin!

One thought on “Most Delicious Muffins

  1. Pingback: Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins | To The Window: Adventures of a Twenty Something

Leave a comment